Tags

, , , ,

OK … I’ve put this off long enough. 

I abhor labels, I really do.  I understand the need for diagnosis but in this case it *can* be just another label … 

In simple terms, a sadist is someone who finds sexual gratification in the fantasy, and yes, even in the reality of inflicting pain on another person.  This can be emotional pain, often in the form of humiliation and degradation, or it can be physical pain in the form of spanking,  for example.  A sadist can also find pleasure in simply asserting  control over another. 

An ethical sadist is a sadist who does these things only with a willing partner, there is no victim

It’s important to remember that when I speak of sadism, I am speaking only of sexual sadism in which the sadist himself has no comorbid personality disorder(s).  E suggested that perhaps I should explain “what sadism *isn’t*”  and after a lot of thought I’ve concluded the following:

What sadism isn’t would depend upon the individual sadist to a huge degree.  We’ve all seen accounts of serial criminals – often rapists and murderers the FBI has labeled, *sadistic.*  Whereas this is, or can be, a valid diagnosis/analysis, it cannot be applied to everyone who wears the title, Sadist.  The criminally sadistic have comorbid personality disorders that accompany and exacerbate their sexual predilections,  a sexual sadist does not. 

Some of us (sadists and masochists) did not come hard-wired with a desire to engage in sex as it is depicted in a romantic movie; tender and soft and romantically ideal.   I have no innate understanding of how vanilla sex can be gratifying emotionally, physically, or spiritually …

But I don’t think those who practice it are criminal or insane … or both! 

I can accept that a lot of perfectly *normal* people find fulfillment and gratification in sexual love that is expressed in vanilla terms.

But given my choice in partner, I’ll take the sadist – as long as he’s Ethical.